Finally…a blog!

I am new to Blogging…but what better way to get my patterns I have written out there to the world.  So…here it goes…my first blog, first pattern!

Candy Sticks Dishcloth
When I was a little girl, I was always amazed by the mutli-colored swirled candy sticks at the counter of gift shops we would visit. The colors were so bright and enticing, I wanted one of each! This dishcloth I designed is based on those candy sticks from my youth, bright and multicolored. After all, who doesn’t have extra cotton yarn scraps in their knitting basket?Supplies:
Various yards of multi-colored cotton yarn and solid color cotton yarn

Size 7 needles

Gauge is not important in this pattern

Cast on 40 stitches with your solid color. Knit 1 row. The second row will be repeated until the end of pattern, (knit 1 with solid, knit 1 with multi-colored yarn carrying yarn behind work) repeat until end of row. When you have reached your desired length, knit one row in solid. Bind off.

Carrying your yarn behind your work creates the unique “candy stick swirl” effect. Knit until you run out of a multi colored or solid yarn, or as desired. I chose to keep yellow as my solid throughout my sample. Be bold and creative, change up your color way as desired. Who says doing dishes should be boring…spice up your kitchen! The texture of this cloth makes it double thick and great for scrubbing stuck on food in pans.

2010 

© Erin Demey/DizzDemey Designs. Not for commercial use.

 
 
 

 

 

About dizzdemey

a 29 year old stay at home mom obsessed with knitting. I sell my handknits on etsy at www.etsy.com/dizzdemey and want to get into the design world!!
This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

